Industrial History Online

Recording Our Industrial Heritage

Images from the IHO Archive

Industrial History Online

Recording and Communicating Our Industrial Heritage

Images from the IHO Archive

The IHO database currently contains 27857 records and 7625 images

Stump Cross Brewery - Halifax

This building was occupied as a tannery in 1874, but in 1883 Mark Barker converted it for use as a brewery. During 1886 and 1893 the owner was given as John Crossley and Company, who also ran a business in Broad Street Halifax retailing wine spirits and cigars. By 1905 brewing appears to have ended at the site which reverted to agricultural use. Photo. February 1977.

Date 27 February 1977

Grid Reference:- SE 10350 26052

Search the Sites Database

View the Image Gallery by County

Search the Image Collection

Industrial History Online is hosted by the Yorkshire Archaeological & Historical Society and is supported by the following Societies